Part II of the big, ambitious trilogy begun with Helliconia Spring , a series which--with its maze of observers and Part II of the big, ambitious trilogy begun with Helliconia Spring , a series which--with its maze of observers and observed, its medieval setting--resembles a cross between Report on Probability A and The Malacia Tapestry. Helliconia, a planet with two suns, where the seasons last for centuries, is now well into its scorching summer; the humans are stuck in a medieval, religion-dominated, city-state rut, while the phagors their age-old, shaggy, sapient rivals are mostly hated and feared. And this time the plot revolves around the unpredictable King of Borlien--who, threatened by barbarians, resolves to cement an alliance with neighboring Oldorando by divorcing his loving, popular queen to marry a child princess: it's a delicate arrangement complicated by the devious interference of the seafaring Sibornalese and the holy Pannoval empire.

Author:Kezil Gugore
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):7 October 2017
PDF File Size:11.78 Mb
ePub File Size:13.23 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

Published by Jonathan Cape, London From: Hyraxia Books. Seller Rating:. About this Item: Jonathan Cape, London, Condition: Near Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine.

Mon Mohan illustrator. London, Jonathan Cape, First Edition. First Impression. A lovely set. Three [3] volumes. A fine accomplishment by one of Britain's greatest writers. The trilogy takes place on Hellaconia, a planet orbiting within a binary system. The seasons last many centuries, and each of the three books explores one season. Nice to have a set inscribed by the author contemporaneously with publication to the same recipeint, creating a sense of history to the collection.

In near fine condition, with just a touch of toning to the page blocks and some signs of foxing to the edges. A lovely set, with pleasing inscriptions.

Cover art by Mon Mohan [, Hyraxia Books]. Signed by Author s. Seller Inventory More information about this seller Contact this seller 1. Soft cover. Condition: Very Good. Very nice set of signed, uncorrected proof copies of this important trilogy from Aldiss.

All very good in red Cape publisher's wraps, and each signed by Aldiss on the title page. Bumping to corners and spines, some tanning to page edges, and light creasing to spines. Summer has some creasing to corners.

This set is accompanied by a typed and hand signed letter from Aldiss to the collector who asked for these books to be signed. It contains some interesting lines about his writing of the trilogy. More information about this seller Contact this seller 2. Published by Atheneum, N. About this Item: Atheneum, N. Dust Jacket Condition: Fine. All Three are First Editions. All three dust jackets are Fine. Each book is lightly faded, soiled on the the top edge. Each book is Near Fine.

More information about this seller Contact this seller 3. Published by Atheneum About this Item: Atheneum, Science Fiction Hardcover 1 First Edition. More information about this seller Contact this seller 4. Published by Jonathan Cape Ltd, London. Dust Jacket Condition: Good. Jackets by Mon Mohan illustrator. The set of three books of 'The Helliconia Trilogy', all first editions, first impressions. The three volumes of Brian Aldiss's , monumental 'Helliconia Trilogy'.

Helliconia is a planet that, due to the massively eccentric orbit of its own sun around another star, experiences seasons that lasts eons. Whole civilisations grow in the Spring, flourish in the Summer and then die in the brutal winters. The human like inhabitants have been profoundly changed by their experience of this harsh cycle. In orbit above the planet a terran mission struggles to observe and understand the effects on society of such a massive climatic impact.

Thoroughly researched, minutely organised, full of action, pulp references and deep drama this is a classic trilogy. Quite a scarce set, extra postage will be required. More information about this seller Contact this seller 5. Item added to your basket View basket. Proceed to Basket. View basket. Continue shopping. Title: helliconia summer. United Kingdom. Search Within These Results:. Seller Image.

Aldiss, Brian W. Helliconia Summer Brian W. Aldiss Published by Atheneum Create a Want Tell us what you're looking for and once a match is found, we'll inform you by e-mail. Create a Want BookSleuth Can't remember the title or the author of a book? Our BookSleuth is specially designed for you.


Helliconia Summer by Brian Aldiss, First Edition

Billy gets to do what every reader wishes, namely to jump into the narrative himself after being a passive observer for so long. How many people would give their lives to fall into their favorite book? You say Summer is better than Spring, yet you say twice that Summer is the nadir, which means the lowest, or worst. I'm confused. Apologies, Bob. You're absolutely right.



The Helliconia trilogy is a series of science fiction books by British writer Brian W. Aldiss , set on the Earth -like planet Helliconia. It is an epic chronicling the rise and fall of a civilisation over more than a thousand years as the planet progresses through its incredibly long seasons, which last for centuries. The trilogy consists of the books Helliconia Spring published in , Helliconia Summer , and Helliconia Winter

Related Articles